## REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING May 20, 2024

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on May 20, 2024 in the conference room at the high school at 6:00PM. Board members present: Molly Welch, Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Staci Allmaras, Greg Larson, and Brenda Olson

Board Members Absent: None

Student Representatives present: Eduardo Sanchez & Ellie Welch

Student Representatives absent: None

Others Present: Brian Korf, Rudy Martinez, Laura Januszewki, Emily Evenson, PJ Breen, Tonya Johnson, Angie Westby,

Karla Breen, John Peter, Kelsey Lage, Eli Beachy, Teressa Schlieman, and Amy King.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00PM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Chair, Jon Karger.

Brenda Olson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

## Acknowledgements

All-State Winter Student Athletes

Boys' Basketball Academic All-State: Timothy Guler

Special Education Transportation Staff Christianson Bus Company & Bus Drivers

Advisors & Spring Coaches
Teachers and Support Staff

Ellie Welch - Thank you for 2 years of service as a Student School Board Representative as well as being involved in multiple groups/activities and for being an outstanding leader at Pelican Rapids Schools.

## Presentations

A. District Goal #4 Mrs. Westby, Mrs. Johnson, Mrs. Breen, Mr. Peter, Mr. Beachy, Mrs. King

(District Goal #4: 100% of students graduating from Pelican Rapids High School have a plan to attend postsecondary education, military, or workforce.)

B. District Goal #5 Mrs. Schlieman and Mrs. Januszewski

(District Goal #5: Pelican Rapids High School graduation rate will exceed the statewide graduation rate.)

## Administrative reports

A. High School Principal Mrs. Laura Januszewski

B. Elementary Principal / ADC. SuperintendentMr. Brian KorfMr. Brian Korf

D. Student School Board Representatives Mr. Eduardo Sanchez & Ms. Ellie Welch

E. Finance Director Mr. Rudy Martinez

Anne Peterson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

- A. Approve board minutes April 17, 2024 Regular School Board Meeting
- B. Financial claims April bills
- C. Treasurer's report
- D. Accept Donations

Student Accounts - \$80 - Laura Klimek

Viking Butikk - \$80 - Laura Klimek

PRHS FFA - \$600 - Pelican Rapids Ducks Unlimited

Be The Light Scholarship Fund - \$2000 - Bell Bank Pay It Forward Program

on behalf of Magdalena Salazar & Cynthia Zavala

Rex & Linda Haugen Scholarship Fund - \$275 - Anonymous Donor

Pelican Dental Health Professions Scholarship - \$500 - Dr. Daniel Ditch

PRHS Scholarship Fund in Memory of Nona Rick - \$20 - Anonymous

E. Personnel

Approve the resignation of Teressa Schlieman as Prom Advisor at PRHS

Approve the resignation of Madison Oswald as Elementary Teacher at VES Approve the resignation of Zane Biles as Choir Teacher at PRHS Approve the hire of Jason Beamer as Full-time Evening Custodian at PRHS Approve the hire of Terra Fitzsimmons at PreK and ECFE Educator and Coordinator at VES Approve the hire of Megan King as PreK and ECFE Educator at VES Approve the hire of Jan-Erik Lindberg as Elementary Teacher at VES Approve the hire of Parker Syverson as Elementary Teacher at VES Approve the hire of the following summer staff:

**Kitchen:** Jessica Kulsrud, Teena Jessen, Robin Swanson

Summer Rec: Abdulkani Aden, Zayla Arrow, Zayli Arrow, Ean Bakken, Chelsey Blakeway, Karla Breen, Brenner Fredrickson, Izabell Gravalin, Brendan Hanson, Emma Hanson, Hunter Hanson, Grady Larson, Makayla Moen, Keagan Nettestad-Wynn, Naomi Peter, Jaci Porto, Linea Thomas, Madison Viger, Emma Villagomez, Irvin Villagomez and Tristan Wald.

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the 2024 Pelican Rapids High School Graduation List. THe motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Staci Allmaras made a motion to approve the 2024-25 Resolution for Membership in the MSHSL. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried, upon a vote being taken. The following voted in favor: Molly Welch, Brenda Olson, Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Staci Allmaras, and Greg Larson. The following voted against: None.

Jon Karger made a motion to approve the 2024-26 Christianson Bus Company Contract. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch. Anne Peterson abstained from voting. The motion carried with all other present board members voting n favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the second reading of the following policies:

Policy 506: Student Discipline

Policy 806: Crisis Management Policy

Board Chair	Board Clerk
Anne Peterson made a motion to adjourn. The motion was members voting in favor.	s seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present
The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried with all present board members voting in favor.	